Tony Award Winners 2022: Updating List

Follow the latest live updates and photos from the Tony Awards.

The Tony Awards are taking place tonight at Radio City Music Hall for the first time since June 2019. The awards ceremony, which honors the plays and musicals staged on Broadway and is resuming its traditional calendar after a long pandemic disruption, honors work that opened on Broadway between Feb. 20, 2020, and May 4, 2022. (“Girl From the North Country” opened on March 5, 2020, just a week before theaters shut down for the pandemic.)

Ariana DeBose, the former Broadway understudy turned Oscar winner, is hosting the three-hour broadcast portion of the Tony Awards ceremony, which starts at 8 p.m. Eastern on CBS. Presenters are expected to include Chita Rivera, Cynthia Erivo, Laurence Fishburne and Bebe Neuwirth. And there will be performances from the past year’s most prominent musicals: “A Strange Loop,” “Company,” “Girl From the North Country,” “MJ,” “Mr. Saturday Night,” “The Music Man,” “Paradise Square” and “Six.”

The CBS broadcast will be preceded by a one-hour segment, hosted by Darren Criss and Julianne Hough, that will begin at 7 p.m. Eastern on Paramount+. That hour is expected to include many of the design and writing awards, as well as some performances.

An updating list of winners is below.

Special Tony Award for Lifetime Achievement

Angela Lansbury

Isabelle Stevenson Award

Robert E. Wankel

Regional Theater Tony Award

Cort Theater (Chicago)

Special Tony Award

James C. Nicola

Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theater

Asian American Performers Action Coalition
Broadway for All
Feinstein’s/54 Below
Emily Grishman
United Scenic Artists, Local USA 829, IATSE

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button